Esarhaddon, King of Assyria

Josette Elayi is honorary researcher at the French National Center for Scientific Research. She is the author of nearly forty books, including Sargon II, King of Assyria (2017) and Sennacherib, King of Assyria (2018)


Josette Elayi

Esarhaddon, King of Assyria

  • Purchase this title

    Print | Ebook

  • More info

    xiii + 152 pages

    6 x 9 inches

    ISBN 978-1-957454-97-9 (paperback)

    ISBN 978-1-957454-95-5 (PDF)

    ISBN 978-1-957454-94-8 (EPUB)

    December 2022

  • Table of Contents

    The Chronology of Esarhaddon’s Reign

    1. The Portrait of Esarhaddon
    2. Esarhaddon, the Crown Prince
    3. His Accession to the Throne
    4. Diviners and Other Scholars in the Court of Nineveh
    5. The Rebuilding of Babylon and Other Building Activities
    6. The First Phase of Campaigns (680-675)
    7. The Second Phase of Campaigns (674-669)
    8. The Problem of Succession
    9. The End of Esarhaddon’s Reign
    10. Conclusion: An Assessment of Esarhaddon’s Reign

    Selected Bibliography 
    Index of Ancient Sources
    Index of Modern Authors
    Index of Personal Names